Shabbat Parashat Vayakhel-Pekudei 5778

Friday, March 8th
7:00 am: Shacharit
5:25 pm: Candles
5:35 pm: Mincha + Kabbalat Shabbat
In Rabbi Hyman's Friday evening shiur, part of his series on topics from Rabbi Joseph Telushkin's book "Jewish Wisdom" he will discuss "The Infinite Value of Human Life", followed by Maariv.

Shabbat, March 9th
9:00 am: Shacharit
Rabbi Hyman's drasha will be titled "The Philosophy of Place:  Why is carrying forbidden on Shabbat?"
5:25 pm: Mincha followed by Seudah Shlishit and Ma’ariv
6:26 pm: Havdalah

Change clocks forward one hour at 2 am


Shul Announcements

  • Kiddush is sponsored by Sharon & Ron Salem in honor of the 30th Yahrzeit of his mother Rachel bat Dina.
  • Condolences to Len & Sue Honeyman on the passing of Sue's brother Steven Appel. Len & Sue will be returning to New Haven on Sunday afternoon and she will be sitting shiva at home on Monday & Tuesday. Mincha minyanim will also be held at their home on those days.
  • With the change to Daylight Savings Time on Saturday night, we will be resuming our weekday Mincha minyan. Please make every effort to attend and help us make minyanim!

Please see the attached flyer for the very important fundraising appeal for the New Haven Mikvah, which is now the responsibility of our community to keep going.

Shul Events

Wednesday, March 14th, 7:30 pm
"The Dead Sea Scrolls at 70 and the New Light They Continue to Shed on the History of Ancient Judaism"a talk by Professor Steven Fraade

Tuesday, March 20th, 7:30pm
Rabbi Zalman Alpert
Bi-weekly Talmud Class in Tractate Brachot

Wednesday, March 21st, 7:30pm
"What did One Brilliant Author Gain by Writing 2 Contradictory Creation Stories?"
Pam Reis

Annual Meeting Notice

The Annual meeting of the Westville Synagogue is planned for Monday, March 12, 2018 at 8:15 PM in our social hall.  The meeting will include the election of officers and board members followed by installation by Rabbi Fred Hyman, as well as committee reports and new business. 

The following slate of nominees for office will be presented by the Nominating Committee for the term of office from April 1, 2018 to March 31, 2019:

President: Michael Wiener | Chairman of the Board: Barbara Zalesch | Treasurer: Endre Sarkany | Secretary: Glenn Schulman
The Board of Directors slate is as follows:

New, 2 year term: Meir Dashevsky, Leonard Honeyman, Peter Rogol, Sherry Shrager

Completing term 2019: Elchanan Baine, Tanya Kanner, Elliott Croll, Arnie Lehrer
We extend our thanks and appreciation to these outgoing officers and board members for all their dedicated work for the synagogue: Mark Schwartz, Ruth Gross, and Felicia Spencer.

Tanya Kanner